

James Dallas, Chair
Maury County Democratic Party
1-931-548-6853
info@maurydems.org
https://maurydems.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 04/06/2024

Democrats to Challenge in All Maury State Legislative Districts

Columbia, TN: Democratic challengers have qualified for the ballot in all of Maury County's state legislative races this year.

The following candidates qualified for the August 1 Democratic Party primary:

House District 64 (currently held by Rep. Scott Cepicky (R-Culleoka)):

- Alex Pierce of Columbia.
- Eileen Wilson-Longstreet of Spring Hill.

House District 71 (currently held by Rep. Kip Capley (R-Summertown)):

Tim Coy of Clifton, Wayne County.

Senate District 28 (currently held by Sen. Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald):

James Dallas of Columbia.

Greg Hanners of Columbia will also appear on the August 1 general election ballot. He secured the Democratic nomination for School Board in District 8 in the March 5 local primary.

Across Tennessee, Democrats are running in 12 of 16 state senate races and 74 of 99 state house races. This is the largest class of Democratic candidates running in a presidential election year since 2004, according to the Tennessee Democratic Party.

More information about our candidates will be posted on our website, maurydems.org. Contact information for these candidates may also be obtained through the Maury County Democratic Party.

About the Maury County Democratic Party: The Maury County Democratic Party is the local county affiliate of the Tennessee Democratic Party and represents the interests of tens of thousands of Democratic leaning voters in the county.

###